SBGSKF at a glance:

The SBGSKF is a National Garments Workers’ Federation in Bangladesh has been working in the field of worker’s rights in the RMG Sector since 1996 to establish their basic democratic & economic rights throughout Bangladesh. It’s a registered Garments Worker’s Federation and a combatant Trade Union organization with it’s Registration with the Directorate of Labour side No: B- 2056 (2000) dedicated to fight against exploitation, oppression and local autocracy to the garments workers in Bangladesh.

The SBGSKF provides strategic & voluntary support to the garments workers unionized to them which include networking & co-ordination, information dissemination on current law & policies relevant to the workers of the garments sector to the factory level of the country as a whole. It’s also doing campaign and advocacy to the National & internal levels for the labor rights.

SBGSKF has experiences in implementing a good many projects (with Local Govt. IMF, WTO. World Bank, NGOs) on facilitation, co-ordination, research study and organizing training to the garments workers & mid-level management on Labor Rights & Policies, Environmental Health, Sanitation, Education, Minimum Living Wages, Significance of Trade Union, Right of Trade Union, and Impact on their children’s schooling, Day Care Centre and other relevant information etc.

President (Led By):

Shamima Nasreen (Female)

General Secretary:

Mir Abul Kalam Azad (Male)



No of Workers/ Members:

23000, Male- 10,000, Female-13000


Dhaka, Savar, Gazipur (including Shalna, Konabari, Sripur) Bhaluka, Narayngong, Chittagong.

No of factories Covered: 1225: Knit: 550 Woven: 675


  1. What is the name of your group?


  1. Mailing Address:

House # 54, Road # 31, Block # D, Section # 12, Pallabi, Mirpur, Dhaka-1216, Bangladesh.

Co-office: 2-F/5, Extension Pallabi, Mirpur, Dhaka-1216, Bangladesh.

  1. Telephone : +88-01817-146928, 01817-146930, 01711-168813
  2. Email: samima_nasrin2000@yahoo.com , shamima_sbgskf@yahoo.com
  3. SBGSKF has 17 member Executive  Committee (EC) which is described below:
    1. President : Ms. Shamima Nasreen (Female)
    2. Vice President: Mr. Nrunnobi (Male)
    3. 2nd Vice President: Ms. Rani Akter (Female)
    4. 3rd Vice President: Ms. Piara Begum (Female)
    5. General Secretary : Mr. Mir Abul Kalam (Male)
    6. Co-General Secretary: Ms. Prya Akter (Female)
    7. Co-General Secretary: Mr. Mustafa Shohid Khan (Male)
    8. Organizational Secretary: Mr. Shohidul Islam (Male)
    9. International Affairs Secretary: Mr. Md. Jamal Khan (Male)
    10. Finance Secretary: Ms. Shanaz Parveen (Female)
    11. Co-Finance Secretary: Mr. Rezaul Hossain (Male)
    12. Public Relation Secretary: Ms. Anwara Begum (Male)
    13. Member : Ms. Monira Begum (Female)
    14. Member : Ms. Kona Akter (Female)
    15. Member: Mr. Prince (Male)
    16. Member: Ms. Neepa (Female)
    17. Member: Ms. Khadiza (Female)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed